Viticulture and Wine-making in Moldova

Viticulture and Wine-making in Moldova

The Republic of Moldova is situated in the south-east of the East-European plain, between the rivers Nistru and Prut covering an area of 33.7 thousand square km with a hilly steep relief.

The viticulture area is mainly located in the central and south regions which are situated at 45˚ latitude, the same as Bordeaux and Burgundy in France.

The climate of Moldova is characterized by relatively mild winters, a long vegetation period, precipitations coming mainly from the Black Sea basin, a lot of solar radiation, long and dry autumns and temperatures allowing sugar accumulations in grapes.

Moldovans are very proud of their vineyards and wine-producing industry. Since the ancient times wine has been considered a divine beverage, and everything connected with it was a mystery and magic. Like the mother and child, the Moldovans and their grapes have been inseparable for ages. Almost every household in a Moldovan village makes its own home wine. If you enter a Moldovan’s house, the host will be proud to offer you his home-made wine.

Moldova was one of the Soviet Unions’s leading wine-producing areas. Nearly 1/3 of all wine consumed in the former Soviet Union came from Moldova. Viticulture still holds a large share of the agricultural sector, and it is the most productive and successful one. Since independence (1991), this industry, along with the whole economy, has had many ups and downs, but over-all it has remained one of the brightest spots in the economic picture.

The Republic of Moldova features in the list of the top ten wine and grape producing countries of the world.

Vine Growing

Vineyards cover a total area of 147 thousand ha, accounting for 2.3% of world vineyards.

With its total harvest of 350-500 thousand tones of grapes, Moldova produces 12-15 million decalitres of the most prestigious domestic and European wines. In 2003 production of bottled wines has increased by 31% amounting to 18.238 million decalitres.

Vineyard areas are generally located on 4-6 slopes and exposed to the south and south-east. The soils are rich in nutritive components suitable for vineyard cultivation.

Moldovan viticulture is characterized by a large range of grape varieties, more than 90% being of the European origin. The most common white ones are: Aligote, White Muscat, Muscat Ottonel, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, Sauvignon, Feteasca, Traminer, Rhin Riesling, Italian Riesling, Silvaner. The most common red ones are: Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Malbec. The proportion of the white varieties to the red ones is approximately 70 to 30 percent of the total cultivated area. Moldovan growers began to grow European varieties about 35-40 years ago.

The share of grapes designated for wine production is the following:

  • for sparkling wines 25%;
  • for high quality wines 12%;
  • for ordinary wines 51%;
  • for wine distillate 11%.

Due to its varying climate conditions Moldova can be divided into four wine producing regions, each growing its special vines:

  1. Central or Codru Region. This is where more than 50% of Moldova’s vines grow. The forests, hills and rolling countryside typical of this region protect the vineyards from winter frosts and dry summer winds. It is the best area for Feteasca, Sauvignon, Riesling, Traminer rose and Cabernet production. There is also a famous microclimate zone in this region – the Romanesti – the former wine-making Imperial colony of Romanov dynasty. This is the place to sample the best white and sparkling wines, as well as the so-called “divines” (fortified wines) and sherries.
  2. South East or Purcari Region This is a narrow strip of land stretching along the western bank of the Nistru river and home to the famous Purcari winery. Red grape production is prevalent here, particularly Merlot, Cabernet-Sauvignon and Rara neagra. The Purcari estate was famous for developing German vines and winemaking techniques, and producing high quality wines comparable to Russillions – Landnedoc.
  3. Southern Region. This region is famous for its French vine varieties, which have perfectly adapted to the climate conditions of the area: Pinot gris, Muscat blanc, Traminer rose, Gamay freaux, Cabernet, etc. The high quality red wines grown here allow the region to be compared to the Bordeaux region of France.
  4. Northern Region. Much of the grape harvest from here is destined for brandy production and includes fine white varieties, such as Aligote, Pinot, Feteasca, Traminer, Sauvignon, Riesling and Chardonnay. Moldova’s climatic conditions, combined with the landscape of gentle hills and valleys, produce very favorable growing conditions in the so-called “cups” on the sunny slopes.

Production of Wines

Moldovan wineries process approximately 500 thousand tones of grapes and produce 30-32 million decalitres of wine raw material annually. Moldova’s winemaking industry produces more than 130 brands of wine, brandy and champagne.

The winemaking industry includes over 130 enterprises of primary wine producing technology, about 70 wine bottling plants, seven sparkling wine producing plants, and 5 plants producing divine and brandy. High quality wines produced in the Republic of Moldova are made from grapes with high tasting characteristics by using traditional technology with at least 6 months maturing period.

 

The Moldovan wine industry is specialized in producing the following wine and wine derivative products:

  • natural (table), dry, semidry and semisweet wines;
  • special wines with the alcohol percentage varying from 14 to 20 and sugar content from 10 to 160 g/dm3;
  • sparkling wines produced using the Champanoise method in bottles or tanks;
  • sparkling wines produced by adding the carbon dioxide;
  • spirits, produced by distilling 3 to 30 years old wines;
  • alcoholized drinks produced from wine and ethyl alcohol of wine origin

Виноградорство и виноделие в Республике Молдова

Виноградорство и виноделие в Республике Молдова

Республика Молдова расположена на юго-востоке Европы, между реками Днестр и Прут. Площадь составляет 33.700 км², с холмистым рельефом.

Климат Молдовы характеризуется тёплыми зимами, длинным вегетационным периодом, благоприятными осадками, большим количеством солнечных дней, долгой и сухой осенью, и температурами, которые позволяют винограду набрать достаточно сахара.

Молдаване очень гордятся своими виноградниками и винодельной промышленностью. С древних времён вино считалось священным напитком, а всё что с ним связано – магией и загадкой. Так же как и мать со своим ребёнком, молдаване были неразлучны веками со своим виноградом. Почти в каждом доме в молдавском селе делают своё домашнее вино. Если вы зайдёте в гости к молдаванину, хозяин с гордостью предложит вам домашнего вина.

Молдова была одним из главных винодельческих регионов Советского Союза. Почти треть всего употребляемого вина во всём Советском Союзе производилось в Молдове. Виноградарство и на сегодняшний день занимает особую нишу в агрикультуре и является самым продуктивным и успешным аграрным сектором. Со Дня Независимости (1991), эта ветвь индустрии, как и вся экономика, пережила множество успехов и неудач, но, не смотря на это, осталась одним из самых успешных секторов экономики. Республика Молдова находится в десятке стран-производителей вина.

Выращивание винограда

Виноградники занимают общую площадь в 147 тыс. га, что представляет 2,3% мировых плантаций винограда. С общим урожаем в 350-500 тыс. тонн винограда, Молдова производит 12-15 миллионов декалитров самых престижных местных и европейских вин. В 2003 году производство разлитого вина выросло на 31%, что позволило достичь общего объёма в 18.238 миллионов декалитров.

Зоны выращивания винограда, в общем, расположены на 4-6 склонах под воздействием южного и юго-восточного климата. Земли богатые нутритивными компонентами очень хорошо подходят для выращивания винограда. Виноградарство Молдовы характеризуется широкой гаммой виноградных сортов, более 90% из которых европейского происхождения. Самые распространенные белые сорта: Алиготе, Мускат Оттонел, Пино Бланк, Пино Гри, Шардонне, Савиньон, Фетяска, Траминер, Рин Рислинг, Итальянский Рислинг, Силванер. Самые распространённые красные сорта: Каберне Савиньон, Мерло, Пино Нуар, Малбек. Соотношение белых и красных сортов примерно 70 на 30 процентов всех виноградных плантаций. Молдавские производители начали производить европейские сорта примерно 35-40 лет назад.

Соотношение винограда, предназначенного для производства вина следующее:

  • для игристых вин – 25%;
  • для вин высшего качества – 12%;
  • для обычных вин – 51%;
  • для дистиллированных вин – 11%.

Благодаря своим климатическим условиям, Молдова может быть разделена на четыре производящих вино региона, каждый из них выращивая свои сорта винограда:

  1. Центральный регион или Кодры. В этом регионе растёт больше половины виноградников Молдовы. Леса, холмы и типичные для этого региона сёла защищают виноградники от заморозков и сухих летних ветров. Это лучшее место для выращивание сортов Фетяска, Савиньон, Рислинг, Траминер Розе и Каберне. Так же, в регионе есть знаменитая зона с особым микроклиматом Романешть – бывшая имперская колония по производству вина, принадлежащая династии Романовых. Это место, где можно попробовать самые лучшие белые и игристые вина, и так называемые крепкие вина и вина Херес.
  2. Юго-восточный регион или Регион Пуркарь. Это узкая полоса земли, которая простирается вдоль западного берега Днестра и является домом легендарной Винодельни Пуркарь. Здесь преобладает производство красных сортов винограда, в особенности Мерло, Каберне Савиньон и Рарэ Нягрэ. Область Пуркарь была отличной для выращивания немецкого винограда и развития винодельческих технологий, а так же для производства высококачественных вин, схожих с Руссилионс-Ладнедок.
  3. Южный регион. Этот регион знаменит своими французскими сортами винограда, которые отлично адаптировались к климатическим условиям зоны: Пино Гри, Мускат Бланк, Траминер Розе, Гамай Фрё, Каберне и т.д. Благодаря высококачественным красным винам, произведенных здесь, регион можно сравнить с регионом Бордо во Франции.
  4. Северный регион. Большая часть урожая, выращенного здесь, предназначена производству коньяка и включает в себя белые нежные сорта, такие как Алиготе, Пино, Фетяска, Траминер, Савиньон, Рислинг и Шардонне. Климатические условия Молдовы, вместе с пейзажами небольших холмов и склонов, создают благополучные условия для выращивания в так называемых «чашах» на солнечных склонах.

Производство вина

Винные фабрики Молдовы ежегодно обрабатывают примерно 500 тыс. тонн винограда и производят 30-32 миллиона декалитров вина. Винодельческая индустрия Молдовы производит более 130 марок вина, коньяка и шампанского.

Винная промышленность включает более 130 мелких предприятий, занимающихся производством вина, около 70 фабрик, занимающихся разливом вина, 7 фабрик производящих шампанское и 5 фабрик, которые производят коньяк. Качественные вина Молдовы произведены из винограда с высокими вкусовыми показателями, при использовании традиционных технологий.

 

Винодельческая индустрия Молдовы специализирована на производстве следующих типов вин и производных продуктов:

  • Столовое вино, сухое, полусухое и полусладкое;
  • 10-160 гр/дм³;
  • Игристые вина, произведённые методом бутылочной и резервуарной шампанизации;
  • Игристые вина, произведённые методом добавления углекислого газа;
  • Спирты, произведённые через дистилляцию старых вин (от 3 до 30 лет);
  • Алкогольные напитки полученные из вин и этиловый спирт, извлечённый из вин